US Supreme Court Rejects Texas Motion to Challenge Election Results in Four Battleground States


Get short URL

The lawsuit sought to override Biden’s victory, claiming the states’ authorities had violated their own statues by delaying the deadlines for counting the votes and sending mail-in-ballots to all registered voters, which was justified by the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

The US Supreme Court has rejected the lawsuit filed by Texas authorities contesting the election outcome in the key battleground states of Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin, Reuters reported.

The suit was filed by Attorney General of Texas Ken Paxton on 9 December, calling on the Supreme Court to invalidate the results in the aforementioned states.

“The State of Texas’s motion for leave to file a bill of complaint is denied for lack of standing under Article III of the Constitution. Texas has not demonstrated a judicially cognizable interest in the manner in which another State conducts its elections. All other pending motions are dismissed as moot”, the court order said on Friday.

All three judges appointed by President Donald Trump sided with the majority in rejecting the lawsuit.

President Donald Trump expressed hope on Friday that the Supreme Court would demonstrate “wisdom and courage” by greenlighting the motion, adding that it would “save the USA”. Prior to that, Trump pledged to intervene in the lawsuit as it was pending the decision of the Supreme Court.

Texas Lawsuit

At least 17 US States and more than 100 House Republicans have expressed support of the lawsuit contesting the whole of 62 Electoral College votes obtained by Democrat Joe Biden in Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. The lawsuit cited witness accounts of irregularities, poll watchers reportedly not admitted to the counting process, suggested inconsistencies with the Dominion machine system, and other alleged violations. Based on this, the suit called on the Supreme Court to disqualify the election results in these states.

On Thursday, five US states – Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Utah – asked the Supreme Court to let them join the Texas lawsuit.

Trump Refuses to Concede

While all 50 US states and the District of Columbia have certified Joe Biden as their winner, President Trump has said the election was “rigged” by Democrats in favour of their own candidate. His team has filed lawsuits in the battleground states where they believe mass fraud and irregularities could have taken place, though so far, they have been rejected in the state courts.

In theory, there is still a chance that Trump could secure victory via so-called “unfaithful electors” – if the Electoral College, set to meet on 14 December, decides to ignore their states’ certified results and votes for Trump. However, this would certainly be appealed by Democrats to the Supreme Court.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *